Memory

Thirteen years ago, seems like in another

life, another time, another me was alive –

and you loved me.

 

Indifferent – she called you imaginary

and tried to erase what’s left of you in me

Failing which she locked herself in a mirrored

room

 

I can’t remember what you sounded like

anymore. Or what pleased you other than

the kettle full of tea, the newspaper and

the silence

 

Returned to life each morning to live

this memory of you; I look for reasons

answers, only to find them in the question

itself

 

Thirteen years ago, in another life

another time, another me was alive

Now I wander the world  having lost

you to death and her to life

 

© Priyesha K. Nair

Leave a Reply

