For Franz Wright

In this world  of oceans and of cities
built with word I saw you, sitting by a
window writing with ancient quill, eternal
ink- etchings that cannot be erased from memory

I watched you  as the sun rose and even when
the moon silently bid goodbye. Your words
sprouted wings, flew to me as songs coming
to me in the darkest of nights – a solstice
for pain

One day you looked upon me and smiled
wrote with that quill ‘we’re friends’ on a
paper boat which sailed the seas between us.
Maybe one day I will pull a star from the sky to
mark those words for eternity.

© PK

Leave a Reply

